Kaioshin’s Greed (899 More Turns To Victory And An Ode To The Greatest Gundam Strategy Game Of Them All)

gg

Uncle Gihren Wants Me

It’s definitely been a while since I’ve written anything and the reason is actually two-fold.  One is that I feel I’ve recently accomplished my primary goal for going into blogging in the first place and have been looking for a new course to pursue in what I am going to be talking about in the future or rather how I’m going to be doing it.  It’s probably going to be a LOT more light hearted, that’s all I can say for now.  Two, and also the reason for why I haven’t actually done something so simple yet,  is that I’ve gotten myself hooked on the Gundam strategy game Gihren’s Greed: Axis No Kyoui V for the PS2.  For a leadership scale strategy game fan like me (as well as a devoted fan of Gundam) it was pretty much a given that I was going to get addicted only to end up spending all of my time on it instead of writing something here.  So powerful is the addiction that I had actually planned on writing about the game a couple of weeks ago, but haven’t actually been able to pull myself away from it long enough to write even this one simple paragraph.  “Just one more territory to conquer”, “Oh I’ll just finish researching this custom Gouf type MS and then call it an evening”, “Oh I can invade Torrington now?  Might as well go for it!”…..it’s like the game is perfectly paced so that whenever you accomplish one major feat the next one is just starting up.  It really gives the feeling of a never ending war constantly demanding a leaders full attention on literally all fronts. 

Ever wonder what it’s like to feel the strain of limited resources?  Having to make the decision between scrounging out just a little more capital for the war effort, but risk losing popular support and law tilted aces in the process?  Having to choose between using that last 2,000 capital this turn to fund a public speech to increase morale and the chances of victory in the next battle or using it to build a few more high tier mobile suits?  How about sacrificing a valuable ace to keep another enemy ace at bay?  This game will have you considering some of the tough choices of a war time leader before long. 

gihren08

And I think it’s gonna be a long long time
Till touch down brings me round again to find
I’m not the man they think I am at home
Oh no no no

You see the thing is, while you control the whole war effort as your factions leader (General Revil for EF, Gihren for Zeon, Brex for Aeug, Haman for Axis etc. as well as some what if and alternate scenarios), take charge of build queues, research and development funding, intelligence funding, special operations, resource management, deployment, combat, pretty much everything, you still do kind of have to follow parts of the story in the end.  So much fun….there’s so much to describe I figure I might just be better off posting a video and be done with it for the night.

A Brief Backstory And Some Early Gameplay (If This Looks Complicated Right Off The Bat It Is.  I Didn’t Really Get It Until About 10 Hours Into Fiddling Around With Things, And Even Now I’m Still Figuring Out New Mechanics Like Spreading Minovsky Particles With Ships To Fuck With Enemy Accuracy And Retiring Outdated Units For Resources Which Can Then Be Converted Into Gold As Well With A Special Operation)

Some Actual Combat.  This Guy Only Shows The Resolution Of The Attack Choices, But What’s Actually More Important Is How You Set Them Up, Meaning Who Attacks What, What Terrain They Are On, Minovsky Effects Etc.

There’s so much more to the game then this, but if I tried to explain it all I’d be here for hours, and really I’m just passing by tonight because Deathie really wanted me to contribute something.  I’ll just say for now that never before Gihren’s Greed first came out on the Sega Saturn did I ever consider what a Gundam game that let you play as the leaders would be like.  You’d think it might be boring, but really it’s actually a brilliant idea and a fun one too in how well it’s been executed in the Gihren’s Greed series.  Hard as hell, but fun.

So then, in time I’ll be back to writing about anime, but that may or may not be before Gundam Unicorn is out.  I really need a real robot mecha show in order to get my blogging mojo going full force.  Let’s just say that when Zeus makes an appearance in Shin Mazinger again that I will be their to report and comment on it.  Until then, I must be greedy in how I spend my time, so back to Gihren’s Greed.

5 Responses to “Kaioshin’s Greed (899 More Turns To Victory And An Ode To The Greatest Gundam Strategy Game Of Them All)”


  1. 1 Sorrow-kun August 2, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    One is that I feel I’ve recently accomplished my primary goal for going into blogging in the first place and have been looking for a new course to pursue in what I am going to be talking about in the future or rather how I’m going to be doing it.

    *Shudder*

    Ok, I’ll bite, because I’m curious. What is this primary goal that you’ve accomplished?

  2. 2 Kaioshin Sama August 2, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    @Sorrow-Kun: Oh…..I was hoping it was a comment about how awesome Gihren’s Greed is. Alas I know this is the kind of game that stays in Japan and nobody ever talks about but me. You could say I’m a master of posting about topics that are so obscure and foreign that few know what to make of them. Oh well, here is your answer, and that is that my primary goal was simply finding all of the answers to questions and theories that have been eluding me for a good few years.

    Let’s just say that some have been proved, others disproved, and still others made irrelevant with the passage of time. 🙂

  3. 3 schneider August 3, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Actually, my Gundam mentor told me about this game and how it is the pinnacle of Gundam geekery. I’ve the PSP version (with a Tem Ray faction lol), but I still can’t bring myself to play it.

    I’m still not worthy orz

  4. 4 Kaioshin Sama August 3, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    @Schneider: I’ve heard that because of what the game places value on that the Tem Ray faction is beyond broken in the game. You start off with tons of money and resources and the ability to build technology from every other faction in the game as well as at a high tech level. Basically you have everything you’d ever need to just completely dominate at the game handed to you on turn 1.

  5. 5 fuka August 5, 2009 at 1:29 am

    Gihren’s greed is a truly awesome game. I played the DC version and it got me hooked until I completed every single faction and obtain every single obtainable mecha. It is fun to save Garma then create the Garma faction zeon and let the big zam wreck chaos. Too bad there isn’t a english translation of this game and it kinda never leave Japan.

    I can totally understand the addictiveness of this game. Every time when I go to sleep and continue the game next day, I always forget the elaborate strategy I set up the day before.


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Present


