Tales of Abyss episode 1 ~ Tear! Tear! Tear!

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

So moe that I died

I confess, I have never actually played the game for myself before ever since my PS2 was stolen back a few years ago so I can’t really claim myself to be a fan of the title…but I am going to do it anyway. This has got to be the most eagerly anticipated series for me for one reason; and that would be because of Tear. Isn’t it just a wonderful thing when you fall in love at first sight? But being the next best thing to playing the game, I decided to read some chapters of the manga before coming to this series…at least that is something a fan would do? Right?

Thoughts: Personally while I would say that there is nothing special about the first episode being quite a slow start as expected, I found myself enjoying it a lot as a sort of “guily pleasure” thing. The production values for this episode is just as expected from Sunrise…it is clean and crisp and beautiful. I can really rely on these guys to give out quality most of the times and this has been no let down on a visual sense so far (and if it was, I would question the future of the series…hopefully it doesn’t walk down the path of other Tales to anime adaptions). And being Sunrise, I wonder when the pizza jokes will pop up.

As I say though, the start is certainly slow but even with that it was nice to see some pretty funky fighting action. It isn’t the best I’ve see but more than enough to pass for an initial seat grabber. Tear of course was the start of the episode for me and I have to say it again; Yukana is the perfect voice for her!

Cue the fanart.

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Do you see what they did there? I think this is one reason why Sunrise took up Abyss

The story is off to a good start…if I can call Luke’s naiveity as being a good thing (okay…I can’t). But he hasn’t been THAT annoying thus far, just wait til he escapes from his prison called home and you will see the worst a grown up baby has to offer (which is next week *gulp*). The other characters also show some interesting personality, most noticeably Guy, who I have an uncontrollable urge to spell it as Gay for obvious reason.

If there was anything that kind of annoyed me in this first episode, it would be the unusual amount of spoilering present in the OP. But overall:

Good first impressions is good, I will look forward to blogging this weekly.

Fanboy Tear-only screen caps! (Cute and Sexy)

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Lovely lullaby Tear!

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Cool and spicy Tear!

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Surprised Tear!

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Gentle Tear!

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

“Hmmmm? You’ve never seen the sea before?” Tear!

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Big bang Tear!

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Passive Tear!

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Oh my god, don’t do it! Tear!

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

“Damn, how can the bastard take such an expensive item and make Tear sad!” Tear!

6 Responses to “Tales of Abyss episode 1 ~ Tear! Tear! Tear!”


  1. 1 Riah October 4, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    And being Sunrise, I wonder when the pizza jokes will pop up.

    Well, in the game, the players can cook pizza. ;D Heck, there’s even a pizza parlor. (Now I’m hungry.)

  2. 2 darkchibi07 October 4, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    As for pizza, wait until they get to Daath!

  3. 3 deathkillz October 4, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    Great! So the promise of Pizza is not going to be broken 😀

  4. 4 FlareKnight October 6, 2008 at 2:42 am

    Have to say I can really agree about Luke. You put that guy out in to the real world and its nothing but headaches for everyone that must exist around him.

    Great Tear stuff though. Through the game she wasn’t my absolute favourite character, but can tell the appeal she had with a lot of fans. After playing the game I’m looking forward to seeing how this matches up.

    Poor Tear though. Just dump Luke into the sea and save having to give up something important to you.

  5. 5 Setsu October 8, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    @FlareKnight:
    All I can say is keep watching cuz there’s one big plot twist that changes everything.


  1. 1 binary options trading strategy Trackback on May 10, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Leave a comment




October 2008
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Present