Super Robot Wars Z PV 2

At last!

Some Story And System Stuff Followed By Big O’s Launch Sequence (Cast In The Name Of God Ye Not Guilty Makes An Appearance And I Immediately Started Doing Backflips) Some Original Unit Stuff And A Few Other Not So Important Clips Such As The Impulse Gundam.  For Whatever Reason The Female Real Main Looks Absolutely Freaking Terrified When She Fires Her Gun There.  Also I Got The Female Super Main Confused For The Aphrodite A For A Second.  Breast Missile Indeed….

Mazinger Z (Mazinger Z Theme):  Whoa, Breast Fire actually melts the machine beast now like in the show.  Damn this is looking good already.

Super Dimension Century Orguss (Hyouryuu ~Sky Hurricane~): Okay first of all it IS fucking Sky Hurricane playing.  Sky Hurricane in an SRW.  I love this song to death!  Secondly, Orguss.  This is the one all you Macross fans are going to be interested in.  Missiles Missiles and more Missiles.

Invincible Superman Daitarn 3 (Daitarn 3 Theme):  One of Yoshiyuki Tomino’s first shows and the first time he worked with Hirotaka Suzuoki (Gundam wasn’t the first).  Anyway, it may have long since ceased to be the largest super robot, but it’s still got it’s charm.

Turn A Gundam (Turn A Turn):  Oh dear…I was hoping for Memory of Military Boots but it’s Turn A Turn again.  Gotta say, I never liked the song all that much.  Hopefully it gets Century Colour worked in.  Anyway it goes without saying that the new Turn A Gundam sprite looks better by leaps and bounds then the one we saw in Alpha Gaiden.

UFO Robo Grendizer (Grendizer Theme): Yaaaaaaaaawn…I guess if you saw this when it aired in the Middle East you might be interested.  Never cared much for Grendizer though.

Combat Mecha Xabungle (Shipuu Xabungle):  Even though I’ve only seen about 5 episodes of it, it remains one of those mecha series where I would almost kill to see more.  I dig the western setting with all of the domes and the whole Innocent storyline.  That and the show is totally cracked up.  You don’t even need to see any of it to understand, just watch this clip….

The Big O (Sure Promise):  YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!  Ahem….Paridigm City, Roger Smith, Machine Gun Fist, can’t wait for this unit.  Soon it will be Showtime.

Getter Robo G (Getter Robo Theme):  I swear there must be a quota for boring generic 70’s Toei series, but whatever.  I just wish we got one of the better Getter Robo variations.

Zeta Gundam (Thank Fucking Christ It’s Not The Gackt Song):  I will never get tired of this show being in the games.  I guess that says something for just how much I like it’s characters, mecha and story arc.  Also finally a touch up on the Zeta Gundam’s animations.  The music they used is one of the Titan battle themes by the way.

Generic Toei Animation Mecha Baldios:  Twiddles thumbs…..at least the music is kind of catchy

After War Gundam X (Dreams):  THAT’S BETTER!  Man doesn’t Dreams just have the most ridiculously long yet awesome lead ins?  Anyway, it’s the Gundam Double X with the G-Falcon versus Lancerow Dowell.  both don’t normally appear until later in the series so I’m wondering if they are going to skip right over the Gundam X.  I think I might have heard they are doing that.  So what….no Tifa Newtype scenes?

Great Mazinger (” “):  I don’t know why I can tolerate Mazinger series versus Getter Robo still.  Maybe it’s because their theme song doesn’t suck.

Char’s Counterattack (Main Title):  God, just like use Sasshou Char or Beyond The Time.  Enough with this overused theme.  Anyway, a lot of rework on Amuro and the RE-GZ’s animations.  Still, I’d see this one retired before I ever saw Zeta Gundam go.

Space Emperor God Sigma (Who Cares):  Combattler V could not be here to represent the Five Member Team Cliched Up The Ass (Jock, Jerk, Fatso, Nerdy, Girl in that order) Colour Coordinated Sentai Robot Mech Series (FMTCUTACCSRMS) nomination for SRW Z.  Accepting the nomination in it’s place is God Sigma.  Tereda: “Like they’ll notice the difference…hehehehe”

Overman King Gainer (OVER!):  Been waiting for this one for a while as well.  Nice S&M attack there buddy…..hmmm…King Gainer kind of gets owned in this video.  Not what I was expecting sprite wise either.  Hopefully it looks better in game.

Sousei No Aquarion (Some Yoko Kanno Song):  I’ve got to be honest, I know next to nothing about Aquarion other then people keep telling me that Yoko Kanno did the soundtrack.  Apparently that makes it good somehow.  Not sure how it works, but whatever, it looks…..we’ll see.  The music playing is god awful for the record.

Gundam Seed Destiny (Ignite):  I’m not going to comment on the show, I’m just going to wonder if Super Robot Wars can make it seem better then the Fukuda directed nightmare of a Gundam Series.  Would have done anything to see Gundam 00 here instead, but I guess they have to get this out of the way at some point.  As long as I don’t have to look at endless flash…whoops….anyway I like how it’s Kira on the left and not Shin.  Good start Banpresto!  Lack of denial confirmed!

Zambot 3 (” “):  Next to Aquarion’s theme “Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zan Zambot 3 Zambot 3 Zambot 3 Zambot 3!” is starting to sound good.  At least it has some errr….heart I guess.  Anyway another Tomino series and the one that really cemented his Kill Em’ All And Make Em’ Suffer reputation.  Also some pretty flashy attacks on it.

Psalm Of Planets Eureka Seven (Days):  Now we’re talking again.  Another series I’ve been waiting ages for.  I like the choice of Days as the battle theme, but also hope we get Gekko-Go and Sakura for the Seven Swell and Final Nirvash forms respectively.  This is going to be a good addition, I can feel it.

Gravion (????):  This seems like a bizarre Moe girl/Super Robot mash up.  I can dig it I guess, but man is Gravion kind of a boring looking Brave Saga reject.  It really wants to be Fighbird meets Gaogaigar

Well this SRW is a strange one.  It contains a bizarre mix of series I am really looking forward to seeing and series I couldn’t give a damn about even if I pretended.  Maybe I’ll come to know and like some of them by the end (In God Sigma’s case it’s doubtful though) but that really depends.  Also on the one hand I like the new sprite animations with the mecha, but the character art looks lacking for some series and I know it’s not just because of the character design.  Maybe it will look better on my HDTV.  Well hopefully there’s lots of scenarios and even more good music to come.  Just 20 more days….

13 Responses to “Super Robot Wars Z PV 2”


  1. 1 Myssa Rei September 4, 2008 at 7:42 am

    Genesis of Aquarion was also directed by Kawamori, Kaioh. It’s basically your 70’s SR premise spiffied up with 90’s aesthetics. There will be three elemental jets that combine into different SR types. There will be winged antagonists. THERE WILL BE BL-THEMED RIVALRIES!

  2. 2 Kaioshin Sama September 4, 2008 at 8:09 am

    @Myssa: So it’s Gundam Wing meets Getter Robo then?

  3. 3 Myssa Rei September 4, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Close, but not quite. Throw in Lord of Elemental too. 😉 Lots of pseudo-mystical stuff thrown in dealing with reincarnation and fate as well (the male lead is the reincarnation of the one that betrayed his race to side with the humans millenia before).

  4. 4 Myssa Rei September 4, 2008 at 8:25 am

    Oh, I just remembered: King Gainer and Eureka 7 (plus recently, Xam’d) share a character designer apparently. I can’t WAIT for the in-jokes.

  5. 5 blake steel September 4, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    I almost forgot about Eureka 7. I used to watch Eureka 7 until it was removed from adult swim. But you know those super robot wars look like a pretty good RPG game. Is it available in the U.S?

  6. 6 Kaioshin Sama September 5, 2008 at 5:25 am

    @Blake Steel: Noooooooooooooooooo…..

  7. 7 Myssa Rei September 5, 2008 at 10:23 am

    By the way Kaio, I didn’t notice at work, but apparently your second video is not the right one. ^^

    As for Gravion? Would it help if I revealed that it’s sort of a mix of Combattler and GaoGaiGar (in aesthetics) AND it’s the prequel of Dancougar Nova?

  8. 8 Myssa Rei September 5, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Ack, the edit function went kaput.

    Too bad that despite having shows that fit VERY well together in terms of atmosphere (Xabungle, Turn-A, and King Gainer), they missed out on GunXSword.

    Give Genesis of Aquarion a chance. Like I mentioned, it’s a Kawamori and Kanno teamup (I still can’t remember if it came before or AFTER Arjuna), plus it takes most of the core SR themes and gives them a shiny early 2004 makeover.

  9. 9 deathkillz September 5, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Well I started watching Sousei No Aquarion a few months ago…and still haven’t got around to finishing it yet…
    I won’t say that it is bad but the story just doesn’t “suck you in” as you would expect a mecha series too, hence the awful delay to finish it. I think that it is far too predictable in a boring sense for my tastes.

  10. 10 blake steel September 5, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Thats too bad Kaioshin. It probably mignt have been a good game for America.

  11. 11 Myssa Rei September 5, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    deathkillz: Well, of course it was predictable — it was pretty much Kawamori’s intent to mine classic Super Robot themes after all, and if those aren’t predictable, then you’re in the wrong genre. ;P

    blake steel: Why, there are INNUMERABLE factors why the ‘classic’ SR style of game (the mega crossover I mean) cannot be brought over to the US. It’s why the Original Generation series of SR was brought in instead.

  12. 12 Richard October 6, 2008 at 11:58 am

    If they threw in Gurren Lagann in the mix, then it would be a blast!

  13. 13 jordan February 23, 2016 at 12:32 am

    Everyone loves what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and coverage!

    Keep up the good works guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll.


Leave a comment




September 2008
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Present