Tales of Abyss episode 20 ~ Not gloomy, One sided animal slaughter and “Oh my Mohs’es”

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

I won’t…cry…Whaaaaaaaaaa~

Apologies for being late but as you know, the subs were slow this week and I didn’t have anytime outside of a busy schedule to get working with just the raw although it could have easily been done considering the content for this episode; for once there was less talk (or at least more interesting talk) and a fight that lasted for more than 30 seconds. Not surprisingly I can say that this is easily my favorite episode to date.

Thoughts: Oh poor Arietta; since I knew it was coming I thought that it would just seem like the usual predictable cheese but I am so glad that it turned out more emotional than expected. Now if only she and the other generals are given more development time, I am sure that it would be sad to see any of them go. Frankly I didn’t quite feel it when Sync died but, oh boy, did I feel it here. It must be due to the music, flashbacks and my natural love for silent/tragic loli types that made the scene come across as being so depressing.

But starting from the start, we have Arietta challenging Anise to a duel (though no glove slap here) for Ion’s death. If I have to pick a side I would choose Arietta’s side since it really was Anise’s fault that Ion died sooner rather than later. Anise had her own problems, we can all see that, but she picked the wrong option to solve it. Why couldn’t Anise have just asked her friends to help? I don’t see much of a problem in that since the group is sure to find a way to help Anise. If that had happened then this sad episode wouldn’t have occurred (whaaaaa, Arietta).

Moving on with the investigation of the planet storm getting stronger and whatnot we run across Asch who is searching for the Gem. Then suddenly Luke remembers that something happened before he passed out a month ago which just made me want to punch him for being so dumb. No wonder why Asch is aggressive everytime he sees Luke, I mean someone with such a natural talent to make others’ blood boil just by sheer presence definitely needs a punch or two. But the fact that a month has passed since that time period of inactivity until now is just ridiculous in the first place *rolleyes*.

Leaving Asch to his painful search for the Gem, the group then moves to their next location (how the heck did they know where they were headed to?) and finds a replication machine. After Jade swiftly takes it out we have Mohs going crazy and obtains the power to become a big fat purple blob thanks to Dist. He then moves onto levitating a replicated island of Hod and claims to be the new order who follows the score blah blah blah. What gut feeling tells me is that he will be the second to last boss at this rate…well if he doesn’t implode my himself in the first place since the power inside him is making him very unstable. Like a ticking time bomb.

But frankly the episode show its usual flaw with unstable pacing and skips as no sooner has the island risen, we have ships attacking it and the group has already relocated to safety. Oh how I wish this series could be less jumpy *rolleyes*

First thing’s first though, and that is Anise’s duel with Arietta before dealing with the purple blob as of now. But arguably this was the best fighting scene for this series to date and although it had a lot of flashback during the fight, it still felt tense and most importantly; was still longer than any other fight scenes in the past. As predicted, Arietta falls to Anise and her group’s merciless attacks; all of Arietta’s friends were brutally slaugthered.

I truely felt sorry for Arietta even more when viewing her flashbacks as compared to Anise. I just don’t know how some prefer Anise over Arietta but there you go. Arietta had such a bond with Ion, much more so than Anise, it was just depressing to watch pure feelings getting trampled like that by the likes of Anise who betrayed everyone. I find it difficult to believe that Anise’s love for Ion comes anywhere close to Arietta yet that may just be the anime’s impression it is giving off (game players feel free to prove me otherwise).

For Arietta who was raised in the wilds to be taught by Ion, I can understand the deepness of the bond they both shared there which makes it even more tragic that Arietta was never told the truth as to why she was torn away from Ion nor was she told that the real Ion was already dead. In that aspect, Arietta’s feelings were as pure and innocent as you can expect them to be. Her revenge was solely for the sake for those that she had lost regardless of Van being evil or not; well she never knew.

For the group to know everything but to kill everyone like that…I guess it is fair enough that they are the ones being attacked but try to then show compassion of what they did (like what Tear said) is like what Largo said, “is an insult” to her (honor). Naturally this is a tragic and heartbreaking case for me where the good (Arietta) losses. The final scene of her hellucinating just before her death made me “Waaaaaaaaaa~” literally, she was so young ;______;

At this point, I think it is rather bad for me to prefer the villains more than the main characters, but that can’t be helped considering how bland the main characters are ^^’

Screen caps and comments:

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

See? This is the reason why Anise’s personality pisses me off so much. not only is she not apologetic for something clearly her fault, she just won’t stop taunting while being in the wrong; I can’t help but think “DIE BITCH!”

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Arietta should have slapped her with a white glove

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

I never once expect them to die so easily, such naive thinking *rolleyes*

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Hint: it has a connection with Natalia

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

BAKA Luke is BAKA

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

“That reminds you?” Well no shit ^^’

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Another shocking revelation

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

I think what she is trying to say is “NO WAIII!” or “ORLY?” in a sarcastic tone

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Geez thanks Jade for being considerate, poor Asch

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

You mean the lost island of atlantis, don’t you

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Yet they are standing on it…I wonder how

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Here comes the Arietta flashbacks, but I think the series needed more of these ;____;

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Evil…Van…kill

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Just like a wild animal, my type ^^’

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

That’s one replica machine down

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Mad man Mohs is getting even madder

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Are you sure you want to look fatter than now?

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

You should have just made it so that he can’t move anymore

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

The new and NOT improved Mohs

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

I found it amusing how he blew away the entire land but the group stayed standing

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Shocku

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

On second thoughts, why doesn’t someone just throw the thing into the Ligar’s den, debt repaid

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

DIE ANISE!

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Sadly the animals had no chance in this fight

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Not with Jade here blowing them up to bits…how cruel

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Cue epic and dramatic BGM

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Gambatte Arietta!

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Cue the flashbacks too

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

I suppose the real Ion was nothing like the fake

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Touching, growing up moments

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

and then…the tragic breakup

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Uguuuuu~

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Then we have the final clash…

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

And as expected, the good loli got owned ;____;

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Don’t cry Arietta…or I will…

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Whaaaaaaaaaa~

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

At least…she is off to a better place

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Together…

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

With Ion and her family…

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

That’s enough Arietta, that’s enough…

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

And you are all murderers!!

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Give her a proper burial, Largo

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Don’t apologise, Anise >.>

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Which is why she was never told

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

But in that her feelings where pure

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

BAD END

10 Responses to “Tales of Abyss episode 20 ~ Not gloomy, One sided animal slaughter and “Oh my Mohs’es””


  1. 1 avisch February 24, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Oh great. Now the only source of my motivation to catch up with this series (from episode 8 mind you) is gone.

    And I love that not matter how unfamiliar with this show, your posts make me laugh.

  2. 2 avisch February 24, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    ugh. Bad typos in the latter part.
    I meant to say:
    And I love that no matter how unfamiliar I am with this show, your posts make me laugh.

  3. 3 Miken February 25, 2009 at 3:59 am

    I’ve always preferred Arietta over Anise, but I could never really hate Anise either. I think her insensitive comments were made purposely in order to goad Arietta into solving the tension once and for all.

    I’d comment more, but I’m failing calculus right now. DX

  4. 4 Midorishina February 25, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    I wish the series was longer; they wouldn’t have to skip over so much.

    Ha ha, at first I hated Arietta, mainly because the Eng voice actress made Arietta sound more of an annoying girl than Anise was. (Seriously, in the game, whenever Arietta meets the party, she always talks about her parents and how she’s going to get revenge. If not her parents, it’s Ion and how she’s going to get revenge b/c Anise took him away. I got quite pissed off because that’s all she ever talks about). Later on though, I don’t hate her anymore; though I’ve only recently begun to like her because of the anime series. I think the anime fleshes out the God-generals more.

    To be honest, when this battle came up, I’m not really sure if it resolved anything. Arietta did die after all and Anise wasn’t exactly happy over victory. Unless of course that was the intention.

    The real Ion was nothing like the Ion we’ve seen throughout the whole series. I suggest reading the Ion and Arietta Gaiden to find out; if you want to that is. No spoilers in the Gaiden chapter.

    Mohs in his gigantic purple form yay. The anime makes him look more evil than the game lol.

    I have to agree with you, no matter how much I like the game, that the main characters are bland. I guess the reason why the main chars are bland because they all have happy endings (clicheness yay) while the God-generals have more behind their past. Realise that sad moments seem to take up more of your emotions rather than happy endings?

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama February 25, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    The thing about the party in Tales of The Abyss is that as you progress through the story you soon get to learn that all of them are scumbags to a certain degree and perhaps not the heroes we would be led to think of them as. It stops short of Tales of Phantasia’s flat out declaring that the party had more or less been the villain the whole time and Dhaos a hero to his race, but it picks up on that long lost aspect of the Tales series thematics.

  6. 6 Hika February 25, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Ariettaaaaa T_T
    Though that’s probably what was best for her…

  7. 7 deathkillz February 25, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    @avisch ~ The only regrettable thing about this is that she had no other time outside of this…which is cruel :/
    And thankyou for reading even though you aren’t watching ^^’

    @Miken ~ I know that that is exactly the case for Anise…but if that results in death then clearly she is in the wrong for causing it. I just feel that there could have been a more peaceful way to sort this than a fight to the death.

    And don’t remind me of failing in maths ;_____;
    Woe is me ~

    @Midorishina ~ If you say that the anime is doing better at showing the personalities of the God Generals…I fear to think what the original showed D:

  8. 8 Kaioshin Sama February 26, 2009 at 3:46 am

    @deathkillz: Play the game already and see for yourself.

  9. 9 Midorishina February 26, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Kaioshin – I guess it shows they’re more down-to-Earth? lol

    Deathkillz – Ha ha, the original was better at fleshing out the main party, which is not as good as here because they rush too much. In the game, the best was Largo’s since it was largely part of the main storyline. If we were to find out how Arietta was abandoned, it would pretty much be a long sidequest and not flashbacks like these.

    Ah, there are always pros and cons.

  10. 10 SyncxthexTempest September 25, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Where did you get the clear Tales of the Abyss anime episodes if you don’t mind me asking?


Leave a comment




February 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Archives

Present